The Bucket List

Do you have a bucket list? What, you ask, is a bucket list? A list of things you would like to do before youkick the bucket.  Mine is quite lengthy, but today I will share just one with you.

When in college, I was an avid runner. For several years I ran up to 40 miles a week. Hard to imagine myself running that much now, as I sit here at my computer writing.  I ran in 9 Bolder Boulder 10k races in Boulder, Colorado. I always wanted to make it an even 10. The last one I ran was in 1991 while pregnant with our first son Martin.

My OB doctor told me I wasn’t allowed to run that race, I had to speed walk. So upset by this piece of news that I really speed walked and had a better finish time walking  than I had running the previous year. Isn’t it funny the things we get upset over?

After the ninth race, I had a baby, then another and another and running that 10th Bolder Boulder didn’t seem as important somehow. But this year for some reason I am feeling like it is time.

For the last several weeks I have gone out to “train” for the race. What I discovered, is that even though I thought I was in pretty good shape, I am not. I felt more like a train wreck than a person in training. The first day I could only run a couple blocks and then walked the rest of my two mile route.

At our motel, The Black Bear Inn, www.theblackbearinn.com by Yellowstone we work 16 hour days in the summer. We go up and down the walk a zillion times a day cleaning and renovating rooms. We ride our bikes everywhere all summer; hardly ever drive. When I come home in the fall I am in great shape. But in just a few short winter months I’ve lost it.

I find it vastly annoying that getting in shape is so hard, but what’s even worse is that if we stop exercising for even a few weeks or months we lose all the ground we made. I discovered that to be true in my faith walk as well. When I am in The Word every day and spending time with Him on a regular basis, I feel I can handle anything. But let a week go by, where I don’t make time to spend some with my best friend JESUS and I am toast. That wonderful peace like a river runs dry.

His mercies are new every morning as the scripture says but we have to read it to experience it. ?search=Lamentations%203:22-24&version=ESV The good thing I’ve found is that when I turn back to Him, it doesn’t take weeks of back breaking exercise to get back into spiritual shape. GOD is so gracious to take me right back.

Every day now heading out the door to go running, that old familiar voice in my head starts up, it is too cold, it is too windy, it is too icy. But NO, I am determined to get back into running shape and conquer that last Bolder Boulder, so I can cross one off the bucket list!

Once out there on the road, I spend time talking to the LORD and listening for a change. That half hour has changed my whole perspective. I am more positive, more patient, more energetic, I think clearer and am happier than when I was not exercising or listening to my Father.

Lately, I have heard from several different sources that Americans are seriously deficient in Vitamin D and dehydrated. Both are critical to our mental health. Why do you think folks are more depressed in the winter months when we stay indoors and don’t see the sun behind the snow clouds? We need exercise, vitamin D and water to be healthy. And we need time with the Father.

If you live in Colorado and would like to join us in running that 10th Bolder Boulder, just let me know and register here www.bolderboulder.com . But even if you aren’t in Colorado, or don’t want to run a 10k, take my word for it, get off the couch. Go for a walk around the neighborhood, go to the gym or hop on that dusty treadmill and while you are at it strike up a conversation with the One who created you. I am willing to bet that you, like me, will feel better for it.

Check out this You Tube of the Bolder Boulder

One thought on “The Bucket List

  1. good for you liz! i have never run the bolder boulder because the kids have always had a soccer tournament that weekend. guess what? this year, no one is playing soccer. so i can’t use that as an excuse. i can, of course use others though. smile.

Leave a Reply

